Center of Excellence for Learning in Education, Science and Technology A National Science Foundation Science of Learning Center

Honors and Awards 2010

George Alvarez

  • CELEST Governing Board member George Alvarez has been honored as the recipient of the 2010 Young Investigator Award by the Vision Sciences Society (VSS) for his work on visual perception, cognition, and attention.

Helen Barbas and Basilis Zikopoulos

  • A research article by Professor Helen Barbas and Dr. Basilis Zikopoulos entitled “Changes in prefrontal axons may disrupt the network in autism” was featured on the cover of the Journal of Neuroscience during the week of November 8. The organization Autism Speaks also featured these findings on their web site on November 11.

Stephen Grossberg

  • Program Committe, 13th International Conference on Information Processing and Management of Uncertainty (IPMU), Germany
  • Invited to be a Founding Member and Member of the Advisory Board of the International BICA (Biologically Inspired Cognitive Architectures) Society.
  • Program Committee, Brain Inspired Cognitive Systems (BICS) Conference, Spain
  • Nanosymposium Chairman, annual meeting of the Society for Neuroscience (SFN), San Diego, November, 2010.
  • Organizing Committee, Biologically Inspired Cognitive Architectures (BICA) conference, Fall.
  • Session Chairman, International Conference on Artificial Neural Networks (ICANN 2010), Thessaloniki, Greece, September.

Earl Miller

  • Editorial Board, Neural Systems & Circuits
  • MERIT Award, National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
  • Editorial Board, Neuroscience Research
  • Advisory Panel, Research Domain Criteria Project, National Institute of Mental Health
  • College of CSR Reviewers, National Institutes of Health
  • Selection Committee, Eppendorf and Science Prize for Neurobiology

Florian Raudies

  • Award for excellent dissertation given by the University of Ulm (Promotionspreis der Universität Ulm)

Karin Schon

  • CELEST postdoc Dr. Karin Schon has received an NIH Pathway to Independence Award (K99AG036845) September 30, 2010, entitled "Aerobic exercise, neurotrophins, and fMRI of hippocampal function and structure."

Barbara Shinn-Cunningham

  • CELEST co-PI Barbara Shinn-Cunningham has been elected a member of the Executive Council of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA). Her three-year term began in May 2010. Shinn-Cunningham, who is an ASA Fellow, also serves on the ASA’s College of Fellows Steering Committee, the Tutorials Committee, and the Ethics and Grievances Committee. Previously, she served on the Public Relations Committee and the Technical Committee for Psychological and Physiological Acoustics. The Acoustical Society of America is the premier international scientific society devoted to the science and technology of sound. Its roughly 8000 members represent a broad spectrum of the study of acoustics, from ocean acoustics to speech communication.

Massimiano Versace

  • Top Cited Article 2008-2010, Brain Research ("Spikes, Synchrony, and attentive learning by laminar thalamocortical circuits")

Massimiano Versace and Ben Chandler

  • Cover Story: Versace, M. and Chandler, B. (2010). Meet MoNETA – the brain-inspired chip that will outsmart us all: The brain of a new machine. IEEE Spectrum, 47, 30-37.